A Caricature of a Character

Svilen Milev (stock.xchng)

I haven’t written on this blog for quite some time.  Though many post ideas have trickled through my brain, and even a few have made it to my computer screen, I haven’t posted them.  I have been impatient to write, but I had to be content with my school work to scratch the writing itch burning in my soul.  See, at the beginning of this year, new character or story concepts overpopulated my ideas file, and they were all screaming for my attention.   Beyond books, other writing projects also cropped up.  I didn’t know which one to tackle first (or if I should tackle them at all).  I would get excited about something, and I would begin to work on it.  But nothing flowed, nothing meshed…it was a mess.

A wise pastor once told me, if you don’t have peace, don’t move forward until you get God’s peace and confirmation.  So I spent the past few months just studying God’s word, but not writing about it, not even thinking about writing about it.  I was just basking in its enlightening and sometimes jolting (but always sweet) truth.  And then I came across this scripture yesterday.

I am writing to you who are God’s children because your sins have been forgiven through Jesus. I am writing to you who are mature in the faith because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning. I am writing to you who are young in the faith because you have won your battle with the evil one. I have written to you who are God’s children because you know the Father. I have written to you who are mature in the faith because you know Christ, who existed from the beginning. I have written to you who are young in the faith because you are strong. God’s word lives in your hearts, and you have won your battle with the evil one.  (1Jn 2:12-14 NLT)

 It stirred within me, and began marinating.  I’ve always said my writing is nothing if I am not using it for God’s purpose.  But this scripture clearly reminded me that my purpose in writing is John’s.  The multitude of “great ideas” created chaos and confusion, clouding the clear simplicity of this concept. Great ideas are great ideas, but if they do not fulfill this purpose, then I write in vain. 

I write to those that “know” but don’t always remember that their sins are forgiven and that they’ve won the battle with the evil one.  I write to encourage, enlighten and strengthen believers of all levels of faith.  I write because I believe that encouraged, enlightened and strengthened believers will always equal empowered and on-fire believers, passionate about their Savior.  And believers who are passionate about their Savior will infect those around them, and this will translate into new believers.  

I write stories where the characters are someone that believers can identify with.  I take an issue (shame, insecurity, lack of trust) that can cause stumbling blocks in our walk with Christ, and build my characters (and story) around this issue, creating situations that exagerate and force this issue out into the open.  Kind of a caricature of character that will take them on a fictional journey, and a spiritual journey.  The story should touch them, make them laugh, maybe even cry, but the message should transform them. 

So to the characters waiting patiently for birth, I am coming to size you up and see if you measure up to this purpose.  I am coming with renewed vigor and determination, my mind set on shaping you into something God can use to touch the heart of the mature in faith and the young in faith.

Leave a Reply

